Pro. 4, Ex. 2 – Angular Perspective

I’m not 100% sure I’ve stuck to the brief for this exercise but I’ve been itching to draw the Wine Rack ever since my sketchbook walk. It does have a lot (understatement) of angles to draw and so I think it shows the technique that is required for this part of the course – I’m sure I’ll soon find out if I’ve done the wrong thing!

My initial thought was to use pencil to capture the grey concrete structure, but as I’ve used this a lot lately I decided to try black pen as I thought it would give a stark quality to the image that fitted well with the building. As I mentioned previously the Wine Rack, as its known locally, is a building that was never finished due to the banking crisis and now as no one owns it, it looms over the other buildings on the waterfront. Lots of people think it an eye sore but I find it quite pleasing to look at.

rack.jpgref pts.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I drew out the frame of the building in pencil first having stuck my piece of grey cartridge paper to a larger A1 sheet so that I could extend the lines off to a point to help with perspective. I’m fairly happy with that aspect of the drawing (although it would be easier to get larger sheets of coloured paper in future) not so much the tone and detail as I think I spent so long trying to get the angles right that I’d lost all patience. I didn’t include the buildings around the Wine Rack as I thought it might detract from it and I’m tempted to cut the paper to match the angle of the building – Anthony Green style – but I’m still a bit scared to do that yet. I’d like to get rid of the far right portion that I drew in without any certainty as it looks out of place too. I think this is a drawing I’m going to go back to as I’m not sure if I’m entirely happy yet.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑