Wonky Pot Study

Today will mostly be devoted to mind mapping but I wanted to experiment a bit more with shape and texture. I found drawing 3D shapes yesterday tricky, I think this was because I wanted to add too much detail which wasn’t really the brief. With this quick sketch I wanted to note down everything that came to mind while I was drawing. I think this will help me with future sketches as creating this image was more about making a connection with the object than creating an accurate drawing. I need to bear this in mind in forthcoming exercises.

What went well
Ink pen is a medium I haven’t used for a while but I enjoyed the process and I will definitely use it again as I like the sharp contrasts it produces.

I feel I’ve been successful in looking beyond the shape and thought more about words that come to mind when drawing it. I made this pot when I was 12 and I don’t think I’ve looked at it properly since then.

Even better if
I need to look more at  light and shade and the effect it has on the background as well as the object.

I can start applying this way of ‘looking’ to different objects and deconstruct them more (not just into shapes but into textures and thoughts) before beginning a sketch.

Next steps
Continue to note down all thoughts and feelings with preliminary sketches.
Experiment with materials I haven’t used recently to see how it changes the way I draw.
Consider the background as much as the foreground.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑