Introductory Exercises

 

Exercise 1 – Tutor contacted

Exercise 2 – OCA Video watched

Exercise 3 – Learning log set up

Exercise 4 – Online Library

When I typed ‘Time Contemporary’ into the search bar on the Bridgeman Education Library, I was surprised at how many results came up. I scrolled through about 6 pages and still no sign of this image. I decided to refine my search, with the hunch that this could be a Mark Rothko piece and added it to the search bar.

What came up was that this piece is by the Spanish artist Izabella Godlewska de Aranda and is titled Space, Time, Molton, Green (2010).  It is mixed media and described as an ‘homage to Mark Rothko’ so I wasn’t totally wrong! It’s a work that I feel I’d need to see for myself in a gallery to decide whether I like it or not. I have a feeling I would as I enjoy abstract art, but work in this genre loses something when it’s not seen in the flesh so to speak. I like the colour of the piece and it feels quite calming. It’s hard to make out the areas of different shades of green in this image though.

izabella-godlewska-de-aranda-space-time-motion-green-2010_u-L-Q1BJZH90
Space, Time, Molton, Green (2010) Izabella Godlewska de Aranda

Exercise 5 – Study Plan

I intend to study on Friday when I’m not working and have large chunks set aside in the school holidays. Although I don’t tend to set specific times for myself, this has worked well for the previous two courses I’ve completed.

References

Bridgemaneducation.com, Izabella Godlewska de Aradna, (n.d.), [online] Available from: https://www.bridgemaneducation.com/en/asset/419690/summary?context=%7B%22route%22%3A%22assets_search%22%2C%22routeParameters%22%3A%7B%22_format%22%3A%22html%22%2C%22_locale%22%3A%22en%22%2C%22filter_text%22%3A%22Izabella+godlewska+de+aranda%22%2C%22page%22%3A%222%22%7D%7D [accessed 20.01.19]

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑